Previously, the name of market was Quy Nhon Market. Due to the impact of war, the Market has many changes in both location and structure. After the 1954 Geneva agreement, the market was rebuilt on the old location. Tran Khoa who invested and rebuilt this market is business man was born in Da Nang but has been living in Quy Nhon for a long time. Until 1969, the new province of Binh Dinh built the new and larger market.
In early 1974, the Quy Nhon Market was burned; Binh Dinh Province built temporarily market on the old base of old market.
In May 1-1983, Quy Nhon City People’s Committee with the contribution of people built a two storey market at 31-3 street. By May 9-1985, the province has invested to build 3 storey market.
The new market was built on the old base, the market area is 9121 m2, 9206 m2 is business area, was inaugurated and put into use in May 2-1986.
But in 2006, the market experienced a horrific fire again. Finally, after years of rebuilding, the Central Market is completed. The work is put into use to create the selling conditions for small businesses, contributing to the development of commercial activities and is a point of visiting, shopping attraction for tourists.
Tourists come here not only can purchase the diverse items of Binh Dinh, but also can learn more about the long history of Quy Nhon Central Market.