Feudal capitals to discover mystery ancient Vietnam

Feudal capitals to discover mystery ancient Vietnam

Vietnam experienced a feudal monarchy period lasting more than 1000 years from 939 – 1945 through many historical ups and downs. What is left to this day we can read in books or see with our eyes. In this article, we recommend you 4 typical capitals – ancient capitals that you might want to explore the difference if you come to Vietnam. Each capital will bring you a very unique sense.

And don’t forget to contact us and check out our tour in Vietnam for your next expedition.

Temple of Literature – Hanoi

Hanoi – The thousand year old capital of Vietnam

According to world documents studying the history of capitals in Southeast Asia such as Vientiane (Laos), Phnom Penh (Cambodia), Bangkok (Thailand), Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), Jakarta (Indonesia), etc. Among the above capitals, Hanoi is the oldest.

Hanoi appeared in the official history of Vietnam in the autumn of 1010  under the name Thang Long (which means flying Dragon). Since then, Hanoi has been the capital under 4 feudal dynasties: Ly, Tran, Le, and Nguyen. In 1831, it changed its name to Hanoi.

The city was also the capital of the Indochina peninsula under the French colonial period, experienced 2 resistance wars, went through a period of economic recovery and is now the capital of Vietnam.

Today, Hanoi is still the political – cultural center of Vietnam. The urban development along with the dense population has created a prosperous Hanoi in parallel with the historical value of the thousand year old capital. If you delve deeper into Hanoi, you will see that behind the interference are many unique lives, memories, and diverse cultures.

Historical sites to visit:

  • Hoan Kiem Lake – a legend lake located in the center of Hanoi;
  • Temple of Literature – Vietnam’s first university;
  • Imperial Citadel of Thang Long;
  • Tran Quoc Pagoda – The oldest pagoda in Hanoi;
  • One Pillar Pagoda;
  • Co Loa Citadel – The capital of the Au Lac state around the 3rd century BC;
  • Thang Long four sacred temples to worship the 4 gods who guarded the significant positions of Thang Long.

Hoa Lu ancient capital in Ninh Binh

Ninh Binh – The first capital of the first centralized feudal state of Vietnam

Ninh Binh is the capital of Vietnam’s first centralized feudal state. It was the feudal capital under 2 dynasties Dinh and Tien Le. Ninh Binh has less flat terrain with many limestone mountains and flooded lagoons suitable as the capital in the early defense period of nation building. In the peaceful period, the Ly dynasty moved the capital to Thang Long (Hanoi).

Ninh Binh has about 1000 relics of the mixed type of landscapes, archeology sites, revolution sites, historical and architectural sites. There are 3 special national relics of Trang An – Tam Coc -Bich Dong eco-tourism area, Hoa Lu ancient capital, and Non Nuoc Mountain. Trang An landscape complex is a UNESCO natural and cultural heritage.

In addition to religious belief architectures, archaeological relics and scenic spots, relics in Ninh Binh stand out with the beliefs of King worship, Saint worship, and God worship, and account for a large number of relics related to the two Dinh, Tien Le dynasties.

Today, Ninh Binh is famous for its serene wild beauty. Only 90 km (about 62 miles) Southeast of Hanoi, Ninh Binh is a familiar getaway destination for domestic and international tourists.

Historical sites to visit:

  • Temple of Dinh – Le Kings;
  • Bich Dong Pagoda, Bai Dinh Pagoda;
  • Non Nuoc Mountain;
  • Thai Vi Temple;
  • Am Tiem Cave.

Famous natural attractions:

  • Tam Coc – Bich Dong caves;
  • Trang An UNESCO Mixed Heritage Site;
  • Van Long Lagoon;
  • Mua cave.

Citadel of the Ho Dynasty

Thanh Hoa – The origin of legends

Thanh Hoa holds the origin of ancient Vietnamese culture – Dong Son culture, of many feudal dynasties as well as the birthplace of many Vietnam kings, lords, outstanding heroes and writers. This is the hometown of the most kings in Vietnam – 4 dynasties and 2 lords.

Historical sites to visit:

  • Citadel of the Ho Dynasty’
  • Lam Kinh relic.

In addition, Thanh Hoa is also home to many ecological areas, the most famous being Pu Luong Nature Reserve, Ben En National Park, Cuc Phuong …

Hue – The last feudal capital of the last feudal dynasty

This is the capital of the last feudal dynasty of Vietnam – the Nguyen dynasty ended more than 75 years ago. The relics here have undergone many changes during the transition period between the feudal monarchy, the pre-modern resistance war and the peace period. Hue city is famous for its tranquil and slow beauty imprinted in the style of the ancient capital. Coming to this city, visitors cannot ignore the historical relics of the ancient dynasty in the transferred era, exquisite cuisine such as beef vermicelli soup, sweet porridge; Hue royal court music and eco-tourism, health and wellness tourism.

Historical sites to visit:

  • Hue Imperial City – Citadel area;
  • Tombs of Nguyen Kings: Gia Long, Minh Mang, Thieu Tri, Tu Duc, Khai Dinh tombs s…
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *