Located between Nguyen Thi Minh Khai and Tran Phu Street, 1 km from Hoi An Center and 20 km to the airport, Japanese Covered Bridge (Chùa Cầu or Lai Vien Kieu) is work is of Japanese merchants who came to Hoi An and built in the mid of 16th, 17th century.
According to legend, the temple is considered as a sword crashing down on the monster “mamazu”, made it move the tail and cause earthquakes. In 1653 they built the temple, connecting to the railing in the north, from which locals called “Chùa Cầu”.
According to the records remaining at the entrance of the bridge, the bridge was rebuilt in 1817.
The bridge is about 18 meters long, connecting two roads Nguyen Thi Minh Khai and Tran Phu and is also a special architectural monument.
Pagoda and bridge are made of carved and painted wood and meticulously. At the beginning and the end of bridge animal statue which is made from wood: dog and monkey (may be the bridge was built from the year of monkey and completed in the year of dog), these animals are worshiped by Japanese in the past. Although it also know as a temple but there is no Buddha Statue there.
Due to the impact of natural disasters, the bridge has been rebuilt and fixed several times so the Japanese architectural elements is lost, and it has the architecture style of Vietnam, China.
The Japanese Covered Bridge is safe and invaluable property has been established and known as the symbol of Hoi An Ancient City.